Categories
Articles Interviews

The “Adorkable” Interview with Roydo

Hello, readers and fans! Today, I recently had the opportunity to interview the incredible R&B Artist and composer, Roydo.

Roydo also known as Ho-young Yoon is an independent R&B singer-songwriter and also works as a composer under 153/Joombas Music Group. He has worked in the music industry for 10 years and has gotten the opportunity to work with some incredible artists like B.A.P, Onlyoneof, The Boyz, Monsta X, and many other incredible acts on top of his already beautiful discography.

Roydo’s music has a variety of different styles and moods in the R&B Genre from upbeat songs like “Face”, “Eternal”, and “Deja Vu” to sentimental tracks like “Adorkable”, “CRZY”, and “Little Flower”. Roydo has music for every kind of listener with his vocals conveying lots of passion and emotion drawing in people that listen to his music.

So, I got the opportunity to ask him some questions about his career as well as his solo music. So, let’s get into these questions.

Questions

  1. From looking at your producing discography, I see that you have worked with a variety of different artists and genres, can you talk about your music process when putting together a track?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “First of all, I’m not a track maker but a top liner, so first I choose a track that suits me and I can do well among the tracks that have been commissioned to me, and continue to make a line. When the draft comes out, it is sent to the track maker for confirmation, and when it is confirmed, it is recorded properly and completed again.”

2. Do you have any artists that you would love to collaborate with?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “As a composer, I would love to collaborate with JUNNY, and as a singer, I would love to collaborate with Jay Park, Paul Blanco, and Leellamarz.”

3. From your personal discography, I see that you like to experiment with different musical styles and production, is there a style or genre of music you would like to try in the future?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “I really want to try the UK Garage genre properly.”

4.  If you could recommend one of your songs to someone who is your new fan, what would you recommend and why?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “CRZY”, “Drip”, and “Congratulations”. All three of these songs are personal favorites, so I’d like to recommend them. I feel I like these the most.”

5. To you, what makes a good song?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “A simple yet addictive song. And since I’m the one who makes the song, I think a good song is a song that doesn’t have anything to point out when I listen to it.”

6. If you could describe yourself in 3 words, what would they be?

Roydo: “K-Pop, Singer, Songwriter.”

7. How did you get started in producing?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “It was a coincidence. I made a mixtape, but the agency officials who heard it contacted me, so I started composing.”

8. What are some of the biggest challenges that you face day-to-day?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “Laziness. People think I’m diligent and hard-working, but personally, I’m still lacking. I feel lazy myself.”

9. What is your biggest goal as an artist and producer?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “As an artist, I want to reach #1 on the charts. Singing a hit song that everyone knows. As a composer, I want to become a composer that is like a guaranteed check that keeps selling well.”

10. What did you struggle with at the start of your career and how have you overcome it?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “Ignorance was the biggest difficulty, and I kept bumping into it. I have also experienced many failures. I’m still going through failures, so I can’t say I’ve overcome them yet. There are so many things I don’t know yet.”

11. What are some of your hobbies that you like to do outside of music?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “Resting while watching cartoons, movies, or YouTube. And these days, weight training is fun, so I’m steadily doing it.”

12. What do you think your music says about you as an artist?

Roydo (Translated from Korean): “I think of myself as a person called Roydo. When I do my own music, I just transfer what radiates from within me into the music.”

13. How do you approach the sensitive task of asking about changes or rearrangements with artists that you work with?

Roydo (Translated From Korean): “When I work as a composer when a fix comes to me, I immediately start fixing it. It’s an issue that doesn’t concern me at all. Real professional composers take it for granted that such things are so obvious that they modify them casually.”

14. When you were growing up, what was the song or album that made you interested in pursuing music?

Roydo (Translated From Korean): “It started off with the music of Ne-yo and Usher. Their music is at my roots.”

15. When you are recording a track for your music, what is the first thing that you have to have in order to make sure that the track sounds great to you?

Roydo (Translated From Korean): ” An Awesome voice and good ideas.”

16. Do you have a message for your fans and what can we look forward to with your music?

Roydo (Translated From Korean): “I am preparing a new EP album. About 4 songs will be recorded, and this title song in particular is the most me-like song and will be the song I cherish the most among all the music that has been released so far. It’s good to look forward to it.”

Thank you again to Roydo for doing this interview with me, it was great to get to know you as an artist and I can’t wait for all the incredible releases that you will come out with and I hope that all your dreams will come true!

If you would like to follow Roydo on his musical journey, here are his social media handles, and make sure to stream all his music on all streaming platforms!

Instagram: roydoyoun

YouTube: RoydoYoon

Soundcloud: Roydo

Spotify: Roydo