Categories
Articles

Q & A with the Author

Hello readers, Today I wanted to do a little Q&A session with fans and friends of my blog. I’ve wanted to do this for a while and I’m glad that I got some questions to answer and respond to. Let’s get started with the questions.

  1. What inspires you to do this blog?

Answer: I’m inspired by the music and the culture that K-pop is and has had on the community and the world. I think it’s important to bring people to new artists and topics in this community to bring awareness and create new fans of the umbrella genre that is K-pop.

2. What was your absolute favorite blog post to put together?

Answer: I’d probably have to say my Awura interview and Unfair posts. Both of these artists are very underknown and I reached out to both of them to get them some recognition for their talent and to understand them more. It was an experience that I won’t ever forget and it was the first time in 3 years of my blog being out that I had over 200 views in one day.

3. Where do you see your blog in a year?

Answer: I hope to see my blog reach many people, help them discover new artists and topics they haven’t heard of, and get them to explore the world of K-pop a little bit better. I’m also hoping to have more opportunities for interviews with artists as well.

4. Is there any struggles that you have come across while putting together your blog?

Answer: Of Course, on days where I feel like I’m in a mental rut or I can’t come up with a topic for a K-pop Culture post or guide it has been an issue, and also getting traffic has been my struggle even though I post on every social media that I own, I never know if people even read my posts or just look at it and leave. Also, coming up with the title was a bit difficult because I had all sorts of names picked out before I decided on Kpopisforeveryone.

5. If you could have an interview with any person dead or alive, who would it be and why?

Answer: Honestly, I’d love to have an interview with Verivery. Verivery helped me through a lot of mental health struggles and helped me pick up the hobby of dance that I still do to this day. I want to be able to tell them that and ask them about their music process and other things that they do as a group.

6. What do you benefit from having a blog?

Answer: I benefit from listening to and discovering new artists, helping others get into K-pop, or a new artist or group, and also getting the opportunity to use my knowledge of K-pop in a creative outlet. It’s definitely helped me get more excited about new and experienced groups.

7. What is your favorite genre of writing and why?

Answer: I personally like expressive and descriptive types of writing. I think that I am personally a very expressive person. Still, I also need a deep description of a topic or situation to be able to fully understand the work and how it plays to what I am writing or reading from someone else’s writing.

8. If you could describe yourself in one song, what would it be?

Answer: I’d say “Galaxy” by MCND, Galaxies are very different and unique from each other as well as colorful and expressive. I think that really describes me pretty well even though I’m far from my friends, I try to shine my bright star to support my friends as much as possible. Even though I am shy when you first meet me, I become fun and loud around people I know.

9. If you could make a Frankenstein K-pop group, who would be in it and why?

Answer: If I could I’d like to combine The Boyz and Kingdom, I love both of these groups for their very synchronized, intricate choreographies and music videos. I think that they would create some of the most mind-blowing stages if they were together.

10. Who is your all-time favorite artist?

Answer: This is too hard haha, I’m gonna give you 3, Verivery, MCND, and DKB. I have been a fan of all 3 since pre-debut and their music always makes me smile no matter what I’m going through.

11. Who would you like to do next?

Answer: I currently have a HUGE list of artists on a Google Document of artists and groups that I would like to do guides on. Currently, I’m considering doing Ikon, Mamamoo, ATEEZ, NMIXX, E’Last, Simon Dominic, Haon, and Nature.

12. How do you come up with posts for other topics?

Answer: Honestly, I currently look at what people in my group chats and other social media are talking about and try to find a topic from that. I also try to think about what I wish I would have wanted to know when I first got into K-pop.

13. How many K-pop concerts have you seen since you got into K-pop?

Answer: I have seen Red Velvet once, Verivery twice, NCT 127 twice, Monsta X once (Wonho was still in the group at the time), Imfact once before they disbanded, The Rose once, Plantarium Records Artists once, Super M VIP once, A.C.E once, Seventeen once, Stray Kids Once, VAV once, ATEEZ once, Must B Fanmeeting Houston once, MCND once in New York, SF9 in Denver once, P1Harmony in Denver once. I’m hoping to go to more concerts in the future.

14. How long does it take you to write a post?

Answer: If it’s a K-pop culture post, it can take me anywhere from an hour to 2 hours depending on the topic. If it’s a guide, it depends on the group or artist’s popularity, longevity, and how much music they have out. If it’s someone like Super Junior that has been together for a long time, it will take me at least 3-4 hours for that one post. If it’s someone who hasn’t been together long, like Fifty Fifty, it can take me 30 mins to an hour.

15. Why did you start doing this blog?

Answer: When I got into K-pop back in 2018, I was always someone that deep-dived into groups or artists and I often had friends ask me for guides and recommendations for artists or groups to listen to. So, I thought the easiest way to do that was to make the blog with just guides at first and then change it up later on as I got into K-pop more. Since then I have made over 100 posts in 3 years.

16. Have you ever been afraid about doing a post on a group or artist because of the backlash of the fandom or group?

Answer: Sometimes, yes. When I first got into K-pop, I was into BTS before I left the fandom in 2019 and at the time I wanted to make a guide on them but because of my negative experience with the fandom, it not only made me not make the post but completely stop listening to BTS all together. I know a lot of fandoms are not all as toxic but that experience made me scared.

17. What are some artists that you recommend that we listen to?

Answer: Unfair (Korean R&B), Awura (multiple genres), Kingdom (4D performances, beautiful vocals, strong raps), PIXY (very empowering, great vocals, great concept, amazing raps), Verivery (synchronized performances, fun and playful songs), Drippin’ (Strong concept, great diverse music, amazing dancing), DKB (self-made choreographies, incredible vocals, diverse rap styles), and MCND (Fun, creative, and expressive music videos, funny variety content).

18. What is something you wish people would do on your blog?

Answer: Comment and share, I personally have posts on album reviews and other posts where I ask people to comment and no one does. It’s a bit annoying and I feel like I don’t get to hear much from the people that read. I also feel like I don’t get a lot of support for sharing the post unless it’s on something people know, which I understand to an extent but I just wish I had more support.

19. What was the hardest post to make on your blog?

Answer: I’d probably say the K-pop merchandise post, I had to do hours of research to find all the items and examples so that people could visually see what I was talking about versus just the writing.

20. What do you do when you aren’t blogging?

Answer: I currently work at a sub shop, I also watch boy-love dramas usually foreign like Thai, Filipino, Japanese or Korean. I also like to learn dances for K-pop choreography and I just recently started to cook with help from Home Chef Recipes.

Thank you for your questions, I had a lot of fun answering your questions and I hope that I can definitely answer any others that you have for me in the future. If you would like to follow me on any social media, here are mine below.

Instagram: bgirlcoralreef

Twitter: teamcoralrose

Tiktok:coralrosebarnes24