Categories
Articles Kpop Album Review

I.M’s “Overdrive” Album Review!

Hello, readers and fans, Today I am here to review I.M’s second solo album “Overdrive”! His previous album “Duality” was incredible and I am personally really excited for what he is going to bring this new album. He has always been another member that I have admired for his stage presence and his strong cadence in Monsta X songs and I can’t wait for what is to come for him in the future.

Make sure to stream I.M’s music video for the title track of the album called “Overdrive” and stream this album on all music platforms. Let me know in the comments below what your favorite track/ tracks are from this album!

Let’s get into the tracks, shall we?

Tracks

Track #1 “Overdrive”-This track is a very sentimental and sexy track on the album. The production has a ticking clock noise, heavy 808s, echoing claps, and synths. I.M really showcases some really sexy and smooth vocals with some very mellow, melodic raps that make the track really enjoyable and unique to the listener which was definitely a new vibe for him.

Track #2 “Blame”-This track is a very sexy hip-hop R&B track on the album. The production has some really dark melodies with the addition of 808s, claps, and beautiful smooth vocals. I.M really delivers a very dreamy, chill vibe to the track with his very unique vocals and give you this storyline quality to the track make you feel all the emotions and feelings that he has as he performs. During the track, I had to close my eyes and enjoy the music, I got goosebumps felt as if the track is very personal to I.M which was really nice to hear. It’s definitely one of my favorite tracks on the album.

Track #3 “Dumb”- This track has a very chill and mysterious vibe to the album. The track’s production has some guitars, synths, 808s, kicks, claps, and a very upbeat vibe. I.M delivers a very charismatic and charming vocal experience on this track. He gives the listener a chance to experience a very charming side of him from the previous tracks and showcases a new side of him that the listener can tell by how he sings on the track. It’s definitely a track for someone who likes that chill-rap vibe when it comes to music.

Track #4 “Habit”-This track is a very soulful funk-style of track on the album. The production has some piano, drums, low-tone basses that really bring the track to life. This track showcases a lot of I.M’s personal side as well similar to the previous track. His vocals are so soft yet clear and stable which really captivates the listener as they listen. It’s definitely a track that I could see myself listening to on a long car ride or just while I am outside relaxing. The addition of the trumpets that come in towards the end were a really incredible addition which made it stand out from the other tracks on the album. It’s definitely one of my favorite tracks on the album.

Track #5 “More”-This track is a very mellow, hip-hop track on the album. The production has a lot of 808s, claps, sexy synth melodies, and a very romantic style of vocals. In the track, I feel as if I.M is showing a very romantic side of himself and also a very confident side as well. The vocals are very smooth and clear with such a strong cadence from the melodic raps which really bring the track together so well. It’s definitely one of my favorites.

Track #6 “Not Sorry”-This track is a very jazzy dance track on the album. The production has a lot of jazz piano, trumpets, soft drums, and low-toned basses that make the track very addictive. I.M’s vocals are very smooth and sexy with so much charisma which remind me a lot of Frank Sintara’s music style with a modern twist which was really nice to hear. It’s just a unique touch to the album that I honestly did not expect from I.M and I am really glad that I got to hear this side of him. Definitely, another favorite.

Overall, I think that I.M delivered a very mature, sentimental, and personal album that gave his fans a deeper look into the other sides of I.M that he didn’t show on the previous album. He showed so much diversity in both the delivery of his lyrics as well as the many genres that he experimented with in each track on the album, it’s definitely an album full of so many great sounds and personalities.

I feel as if this album would be great for people that are both non-Kpop fans and current K-Pop fans alike. It’s one that I would definitely recommend that you got and check out for yourself.

Thanks for reading!